ERA-EDTA Fellowship Programme

Fellowship Programme Secretariat
ERA-EDTA Operative Headquarters
Via Spolverini n° 2
43126 Parma
Phone: +39 0521 989078

Dear Colleague,
We are glad to inform you that the ERA-EDTA Fellowship Programme is continuing and that the next deadline to apply is July 1st 2013.
The Fellowship Programme offers an opportunity to young investigators and clinicians to increase their contribution towards the development of Nephrology, Dialysis and Transplantation in their countries as well as to increase the exchange among European Nephrology Centres.
ERA-EDTA supports two different Kinds of Fellowships:

1. LONG TERM FELLOWSHIPS (LTF), intended for advanced training through research;

2. SHORT TERM FELLOWSHIPS (STF), intended for:


a) promoting a research collaboration between two institutions;


b) training in specific clinical techniques.

The duration of LTF is more than 180 days and no longer than 2 years.  A shorter period than requested may be awarded depending on the score assigned by SAB and the resulting position in the ranking.
The STF duration is from a minimum of 14 days to a maximum of 180 days.
From 2006 till 2012, 59 STF and 71 LTF have been attributed and, starting from September 2009, the Programme is no more restricted to exchanges among different European Countries, but is also allowed within the same country; nevertheless, priority will be given to Fellowship exchanges among different countries.
The Fellowship Programme is open to all young investigators and clinicians living in the geographical Area of ERA-EDTA, including all European countries and countries bordering Europe and the Mediterranean Sea:  Albania, Algeria, Andorra, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Estonia, Finland, FYRM of Macedonia, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Kazakhstan, *Kosovo, Latvia, Lebanon, Libya, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Morocco, The Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, San Marino, Serbia, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, Sweden, Syria, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom.
* This designation is without prejudice to positions on status, and is in line with UNSCR 1244/99 and the ICJ Opinion on the Kosovo declaration of independence.
The applicant can propose to have the fellowship in any centre within the ERA-EDTA geographical Area.
Moreover, in order to help the applicants to find a receiving centre, the Association invited Clinical and Research Centres within its geographical Area which are willing to receive a fellow to manifest their availability and created two lists. You may find the lists as well as all details concerning the Centres at the following links:

We kindly invite you to inform as many young doctors as possible about this prestigious opportunity.
All information is available in the Fellowship Programme section of our official website:
With our best regards,
Prof. Raymond Vanholder
ERA-EDTA President and Scientific Advisory Board Chairman
Prof. Heini Murer
ERA-EDTA Scientific Advisory Board Co-Chairman

Prof. Giovanni Cancarini
ERA-EDTA Scientific Advisory Board Coordinator